Flight Training using a Flight Simulator

10/29/2018

I have seen the value of having a flight simulator in universities since my time in Liverpool. I donated this flight simulator to Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) for all students and staff to use. It is basic, but nonetheless useful tool for students to use to experience the basics of flying a plane.

I started using fight simulators to teach since I began teaching in the year 2000. In 2016 after re-joining UPM I found that it is impossible to teach aerospace without using one. Although I have been using the machine more extensively for teaching, a new request came when my newly graduated student, Thinnish, was offered a job interview by Malaysian Airlines to become a pilot. To be accepted into the Cadet Pilot program, one of the many tests during the interview was the psycho-motor test during which he had to fly a 6 degree-of-freedom Boeing 777 flight simulator - not an easy task for anyone even for those who have a basic experience flying a simple simulator. 

I brought Thinnish to the flight simulator room and put him into an intensive crash course in flying. We went through flying straight and level, trimming, banking, climbing, gliding, descending, medium turns, steep turns, landing etc. After hours of practicing, he went for the interview a few days later ... and got the job offer. 

Without a doubt, flight simulators are essential for teaching aerospace and has helped students a lot not just for demonstrating aircraft performance but also to teach basic flying. It is an absolute joy to see how this humble simulator has helped  students grow and in Thinnish's case, been accepted as a Cadet Pilot by the national carrier, Malaysia Airlines (MAS).